Consists of the leaders of the six core ARCTOS institutions and the ARCTOS Leader Group. In addition, the dean and vice-dean of research at the faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries and Economics (BFE) at UiT The Arctic University of Norway (Kathrine Tveiterås, Jørgen Berge) as well as the leader of the department of Arctic and Marine Biology (AMB) at UiT (Elina Halttunen) have an observer status in the Board.
Responsible for approval of budgets and financial reports, and strategy and action plans, integration with member institutions plans and priorities, acceptance of new member institutions. The ARCTOS Board meets twice a year.

InstitutionRepresentativeDeputy representative
UiT The Arctic University of NorwayDag Rune OlsenCamilla Brekke
UNIS The University Centre in SvalbardJøran Moen
Institute for Marine ResearchSissel RogneMaria Fossheim
Akvaplan-nivaMerete KristiansenAnita Evenset
Nord UniversityHanne Solheim HansenKetil Eiane
Norwegian Polar InstituteOle Arve MisundNalân Koç